Welcome to Alumni & Corporate Relations

Dr. Jagadeesh S Moodera

1978 - Ph.D - Physics Senior Research Scientist, @ Francis Bitter Magnet Laboratory, MIT

Dr. Jagadeesh S. Moodera received his Ph.D in Physics from IIT Madras in 1978. He obtained his M. Sc (Physics) degree from Mysore University.

Dr. Jagadeesh S. Moodera is presently a scientist and leads the Thin Film Magnetism, Tunneling and Nanospintronics group at the Francis Bitter Magnet Laboratory, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, USA. Prior to joining MIT, he was a Postdoctoral Fellow at West Virginia University, Morgantown.

Dr. Moodera’s contribution to academics revolves around both fundamental and applied aspects of Physics. He pioneered research on spin polarized tunneling, transport and thin film magnetic structures. Among other research accomplishments, his (patented) work on room temperature tunnel magneto-resistance is considered to be a path-breaking discovery that has already revolutionized high-density magnetic data storage and nonvolatile magnetic random access memory devices are being developed for future technology. In the field of spin transport, Dr. Moodera is considered a world leader, and several groups around the world are collaborating with him.

Dr. Moodera is passionate about motivating young minds to engage in cutting edge research. Dr. Moodera is recognized as an extremely effective and inspiring team leader. His recent publications, which include 5 in Physical Review Letters in 2008 alone, are a reflection of his sustained zeal towards research. He has contributed over 150 papers in peer reviewed journals, and delivered over 170 invited talks, colloquia at national and international conferences, universities and companies in more than 12 countries. He has more than 5000 scientific citations and has been serving as a member of advisory boards in several research bodies including NSF, USA.

Dr. Moodera has been the recipient of several honors and awards including the prestigious American Competitiveness and Innovation (ACI) Fellowship by National Science Foundation, and the Buckley Prize in Condensed Matter Physics of American Physical Society in 2009.

In recognition of his outstanding contributions to the field of fundamental and applied Physics, IIT Madras and its alumni are proud to confer on him this award.

OUR Other DAAs