Welcome to Alumni & Corporate Relations

Chandrayaan-3 Rover is Out: Scientists Behind ISRO Moon Mission and Their Educational Background

Chandrayaan-3 Rover is Out: Scientists Behind ISRO Moon Mission and Their Educational Background

ISRO Moon Mission: Chandrayaan 3 is on the Moon. Get here the details of the people behind the Chandrayaan-3 mission, their achievements, and academic backgrounds. Know who is the ‘Rocket Woman of India.’

ISRO Scientists: After Chandrayaan-2, Chandrayaan-3 is the next mission of ISRO (Indian Space Research Organisation). This moon mission aims for safe landing on the moon and exploring its surface. A rocket called LVM3 from SDSC SHAR, Sriharikota, launched the lander and rover into space.

The 2019 launch of Chandrayaan-2 included an orbiter, a lander, and the Pragyan rover. Unfortunately, a software error caused the plane to lose all communications minutes before it was scheduled to land; as a result, it deviated off course and crashed. The orbiter is still operational and gives the organisation useful data, so it wasn’t a total disaster. Before Chandrayaan-2, Chandrayaan-1 was launched in 2008. It was India’s first lunar mission.

Today Chandrayaan-3 lander landed on moon at around 6:04 PM. The whole nation prayed for a safe landing. The efforts that our ISRO scientists are putting into achieving this aim will soon show the colours. The whole team of Chandrayaan-3 has put a lot of hopes and dreams into this mission.

Now let us talk about the scientist behind the Chandrayaan 3 mission. These are the main forces that are making India proud with such extraordinary achievements. A whole team of experts is working on this mission under the leadership of the below-mentioned personalities. Let us have a look at their educational background and achievements.

S Somanath, ISRO Chairman

–  B. Tech in Mechanical Engineering from TKM College of Engineering, Kollam.

– Masters (M. Tech) in Aerospace Engineering from IIS (Indian Institute of Science), Bangalore, specialising in Structures, Dynamics, and Control with a Gold Medal.

To know more about S Somanath visit www.isro.gov.in.


Ritu Karidhal Srivastava, Senior Scientist – ISRO


– B. Sc. in Physics from University of Lucknow

– M. Sc. in Physics from University of Lucknow

– Enrolled in a doctorate course in the Physics Department of University of Lucknow

– Research scholar at Lucknow University for six months

– Also know as “Rocket Woman of India”

– Deputy Operations Director, India’s Mars Orbiter Mission (MOM), Mangalyaan

– Mission Director of Chandryaan 3

P Veeramuthuvel, Project Director, Chandrayaan-3

– In 2019, P Veeramuthuvel took leadership of the Chandrayaan-3 project. He previously held the position of deputy director at the ISRO headquarters’ Space Infrastructure Programme Office. 

– Graduated from the Indian Institute of Technology in Madras (IIT-M).

S Unnikrishnan Nair, Director, Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre (VSSC)


– B.Tech. degree in Mechanical Engineering from Mar Athanasius College of Engineering affiliated with Kerala University.

– ME in Aerospace Engineering from IISc, Bengaluru.

– PhD in Mechanical Engineering from IIT Madras, Chennai.

To know more about S Unnikrishnan Nair visit vssc.gov.in.

A Rajarajan, chairman, Launch Authorisation Board (LAB)

– Bachelor of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering in 1987.

– Director of Satish Dhawan Space Centre SHAR (SDSC SHAR), Sriharikota, principal SpacePort of India.

– A recipient of ISRO Merit award in 2015.

– ISRO Team excellence awards in 2010, 2011 & 2015.

– Member of several professional bodies, namely ISAMPE, AeSI etc.

To know more about A Rajarajan and his accomplishments visit www.shar.gov.in.

M Sankaran, Director, U R Rao Satellite Centre (URSC)

– Master’s degree in Physics from Bharathidasan University, Tiruchirappalli in 1986.

– ISRO’s Performance Excellence Award for the Year 2017.

– ISRO Team Excellence awards in 2017 and 2018.

To know more about M Sankaran and his accomplishments visit smcit.ecs.baylor.edu.

Apart from these, director Mohan Kumar, who is in-charge of the operational aspects of Chandrayaan-3 and Vehicle director Biju C Thomas are also part of the Chandrayaan-3 team.


Original News Link